It has to have a name…

I’m working on an exhibition. One that has to have a ‘name’. I always like things to be named, but to give an exhibition a name get’s me to another level of fright.

I saw an exhibition once that was called: ‘Nothing’. And it was. It really was! And that sucked, because the artist wasn’t giving it a name to be ridiculed about afterwards.

So I need a good name for it, because City Hall wants me to. But not some name I didn’t think about properly. So I started with what I am making. What am I showing?

What:

Birds
Branches
Children’s book
Polaroid
Shadows
Writing
Drawings

I started thinking about working titles, but I soon got stuck in the fear of choosing wrong. I asked a friend to start associating freely. She came up with a whole list and I added some of my own.

Working titles:
Blackbird
Shadow image
Quill
Horizon
Around the corner
The actual reason
hidden
hide and seek
Behind a door
soldier
dune
fart
cover
Something fell behind
Underlying
Mystic
Birds
Flying
Wings
Clouds
Sea wind
Thermic
Shit on a roof
Gutter rumble
Ticking on the roof
Screeching
Communicating
Whistle
From tree to ree
Nest
Birds
Ballet dansers
Swan lake
Eggs
Jealous of flying
Bird perspective
Helicopter view
Floating
Diving
Lift off
White
Black
Peter pan
Sun
Time
Sundial
Season
LongShort
Foggy
Sharp
A source
Plato
silhouette
Sharply
Defined
Contrast
Store
Brings truth
Confronting
Man Woman Sunset
Coin
Invisible
Veiled
Make up, what you don’t see
Gestallt
Between the lines
Who sees this, sees black and white

But I have chosen a name! And it is NOT in the list above. Of course it can still be ridiculed (don’t be afraid), but it has everything I need, everything that I need to giva away in a name for my work. Hopefully it will make people want to come in the door and see my work.

It is a Dutch name, because I live in the Netherlands. But in English it works well too.

Welcome to my exhibition: “Anderzijds” or (in English) “On the other Hand“, opening March 2014!

Image

© Edda Grol ‘Titel nog onbekend, detail’, 2013

Geef een reactie

