Cherry Blossom

Today, I tried something different. I usually draw with a pen, a fineliner. And that kind of pen always stains in combination with paint or water. But today I wanted that!

I am kind of obsessed with mortality or death, or both. To cross over to the other side, die, be reborn or to just disappear is such an interesting thing I just cannot get it out of my head. In fact, my exhibition is about dying, crossing over to ‘the other side’.

I have been to China this year. A lot of parks have cherry blossom in their gardens. Cherry blossom is mostly associated with Japan, but in China you can find it a lot in the South. It has a special bond with mortality, in that way that de Japanese think life is like cherry blossom: pretty, but short blooming.

The cherry blossom can be white, pink or a dark fuchsia. I loved the almost-white ones, with a pink undertone. First I drew a flower with black fineliner, and put some pink over it. Then some white, to make it more fragile. It made me think of baroque or rococo flowers!

Image

After that I started to draw a branch in fineliner, also the red:

Image

I filled it with white and blended it, to make it soft. If you look closely you still see the little lines of the branches through the paint!

Image

Geef een reactie

